ALL ASTROPHYSICAL EVENTS , including the origin of the universe, are governed by the physics of nuclei and particles.The LBNL Institute for Nuclear and Particle Astrophysics (INPA) unites research in astrophysics – including solar neutrinos, cosmic rays, dark matter, supernovae, cosmic background radiation and theoretical astrophysics. The Institute unites experimenters and theorists with common scientific goals and shared techniques that transcend divisional boundaries. INPA promotes interdisciplinary work in Nuclear and Particle Astrophysics at LBNL by: 2

  • Promoting interaction and communication among its members
  • Sharing of intellectual, technical, and administrative resources
  • Planning of new research proposals and development of major detector systems
  • Developing innovative educational outreach programs
  • Establishing seminars, postdoctoral, and visitor programs. Sponsoring workshops

Recent News

February 16, 2017

Award season at the ATLAS Experiment
The ATLAS Thesis Awards highlight outstanding contributions to the collaboration by PhD students. The theses awarded can cover any area of ATLAS physics, from contributions to the detector to analysis.

December 5-6, 2016

The 3rd Berkeley Workshop on the Direct Detection of Dark Matter
The purpose of the workshop is to focus on ideas towards and challenges of future dark matter search experiments. Please see the Scientific Programme and Timetable for further details.

December 7-9, 2016

A workshop on ultra low energy detection methods, immediately following the 2016 Berkeley Workshop on Dark Matter. See “Scientific Programme” and “Timetable” for details.

November 2015

Kam-Biu Luk from the Physics Division/UCB was among five other physicists was awarded 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics Winner for experiments investigating neutrino oscillation for Daya Bay project. The five teams are comprised of more than 1,300 individual physicists, and all members will share in the recognition for their work. The award was accepted by team leaders Yifang Wang and Kam-Biu Luk (Daya Bay); Atsuto Suzuki (KamLAND); Koichiro Nishikawa (K2K / T2K); Arthur B. McDonald (Sudbury Neutrino Observatory); and Takaaki Kajita and Yoichiro Suzuki (Super-Kamiokande). Read the Breakthough Prize press release here.

April 2015

Lab’s Perlmutter Featured in April 22 Hubble Telescope Documentary Twenty-five years ago, NASA launched one of the most ambitious experiments in the history of astronomy: the Hubble Space Telescope. In honor of Hubble’s landmark anniversary, NOVA tells the remarkable story of the telescope that forever changed our understanding of the cosmos. Read the LBNL press release here.